Considering making your next new midsize SUV a Ford Explorer? If so, you may want to learn more about your options. In this guide to the Ford Explorer trim levels, we'll walk Maitland, Orlando, and Winter Park drivers through every trim.

There are five trim levels in total: base, XLT, Limited, Sport, and Platinum. Each model offers different features and capabilities. At Peacock Ford, we want to give you a closer look. Read ahead and discover the trims in detail!

Learn More: 2019 Ford Explorer Review

Ford Explorer

The base trim level is simply called the Ford Explorer. It comes standard with a 3.5L V6 engine, which delivers 290 horsepower. If you prefer, you can upgrade to an available 2.3L EcoBoost® 4-cylinder with 280 horsepower (and a boost in torque) on tap.

The base Explorer comes equipped with the SYNC® infotainment system, complete with a 4.2-inch display screen and Bluetooth®. To encourage safe driving habits, MyKey® can set limits on speed and audio for your teenage drivers.

Explorer XLT

The second of the Ford Explorer trims, the Explorer XLT, offers the same standard and optional powertrains as the base trim. You'll get some added amenities at this level. Proximity key entry and push-button start make it easier to get moving in a hurry.

Meanwhile, a leather-wrapped steering wheel adds style and a certain weight beneath your hands as you drive. Plenty of packages are available at this level, too, including:

  • Driver Connect (SYNC® 3, Apple CarPlay™, Android Auto™)
  • Cold Weather Package (heated front seats & steering wheel)
  • Ford Safe and Smart™ Package (Ford Co-Pilot360™)

Explorer Limited

With the Explorer Limited, you'll get the 280-horsepower EcoBoost® 4-cylinder engine standard. Features like SYNC® 3, complete with Apple CarPlay™ and Android Auto™, are standard as well. Pair a smartphone with the touchscreen display and access your favorite apps on the go.

For your comfort in the heat of those Florida summers, dual-zone automatic climate control is standard. The driver and front passenger can set a precise temperature for their respective seating zones.

Explorer Sport

The Explorer Sport is the first trim level to offer the range-topping 3.5L EcoBoost® V6 engine. It cranks out 365 horsepower and can get you up to speed in no time. Intelligent 4WD, which is available on all the other trims, comes standard on the Sport trim.

You'll also get many other performance-enhancing features. The Sport adds a sport suspension as well as the Trailer Tow Package. Features like Hill Descent Control™ and a Terrain Management System™ add to this vehicle's off-road prowess.

Explorer Platinum

Atop the Ford Explorer trims sits the Explorer Platinum. It offers the full luxury treatment, complete with Nirvana leather seats and rich wood accents. A twin-panel moonroof lets you enjoy the scenery, and the Sony® premium sound system blasts your music loud and clear. You'll get the full Ford Co-Pilot360™ suite for safer driving on the road.

Test Drive the Ford Explorer Trims Today

We hope you found our guide to the Ford Explorer trim levels useful! If you want to try out this midsize SUV for yourself, we're happy to help you out.

Simply schedule a test drive at Peacock Ford, our Ford dealership near Maitland, Orlando, and Winter Park. We'll get you in the driver's seat of your favorite Explorer trims!

Make an Inquiry

Contact us

Peacock Ford

1875 S. Orlando Ave
Directions Maitland, FL 32751

  • Sales: (407) 644-7111
  • Service: (407) 644-7111
  • Parts: (407) 644-7111


  • Monday 9:00am - 8:00pm
  • Tuesday 9:00am - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday 9:00am - 8:00pm
  • Thursday 9:00am - 8:00pm
  • Friday 9:00am - 8:00pm
  • Saturday 9:00am - 6:00pm
  • Sunday Closed